top of page
  • Writer's pictureLuis Ramsey

Editing

Using Filmora9 was quite a simple yet sluggish process. Going back to this software meant downgrading to an older device which struggles to keep up with the demands of editing software. Nonetheless I persisted with the lag and worked with what I knew.



The software comes with a range of features, including transitions, effects, keyframes and advanced editing to video and audio assets. The above image shows the pre-render process as this was what allowed me to smoothly edit the video. Without this, the video would lag and I would struggle to make detailed and effective changes.

On the timeline are two tracks; audio and video. The video track was home to a number of clips, each laid out into appropriate places so that the music would transition between scenes and songs smoothly and effectively. In addition to this, transitions were added between each section of clips to indicate a change in scenes.




The two screenshots above show the audio tracks, including the transitions I worked with to help them merge between one another. This was a tricky process to get just right because Filmora9 is no Logic Pro, and I am no DJ, so I made the very best attempt to merge the songs well and at suitable places so not as to blast random notes at various tempos.


The songs I selected were:

- If Only They Knew, Black Atlass

- Cherry Coloured Funk, Cocteau Twins

- Lost In Yesterday, Tame Impala



Once all the clips were in their appropriate places and the music had been tuned to flow between the different scenes, the final step in editing was to colour correct the footage. Again, Filmora9 is not as advanced with the colour correction tools as Premier Pro or Final Cut may be, but I did my best to stylise the video and adjust the appearance of the raw footage. This also enabled me to create more distinguished scenes; some dark, some bright etc

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Memento Project Review

Right off the bat, the final video is a rough edit, as in it is not the highest quality it could possibly be. My old laptop with Filmora9...

Contextual Research

The issue I often find with my work is that it doesn't always come from an established background of artists or practitioners. More often...

Comments


bottom of page