top of page
  • Writer's pictureLuis Ramsey

Presentation Techniques

As part of the final stages of my project, however early, I am to look into the types of presentation techniques I can use. However, given that this year's exhibition will not be in person due to the pandemic, and alternative format of presentation will be necessary at the end.


Today's task was to experiment and explore the types of presentation techniques that would be suitable for my project format; moving image and photography. Given that I have a selection of both mediums from my short film to photographs, it is key that I develop a layout that presents these equally and as intended.

Below is some sketches of my initial ideas for a physical display of my project and its components.



The sketches are all similar in display layout, but their function differs across the board.

The first idea (1) is to have the photographic aspect displayed through projections that project onto allocated boards on the wall. These projections will shuffle randomly between the top half, middle and bottom half photos to create a custom outfit. This would emphasise the chaotic environment and aesthetic of lockdown fashion in a subtle way. As well as that, the short film will play on loop on a large screen in the centre of the display, acting as the centrepiece which ties the other components of the project together.

The second idea (2) uses the same layout, however the difference is that the projections and now still prints that are mounted onto the wall in the same positions. The film still loops in the centre.

The third sketch shows a similar layout, but this idea features more depth. The film will still loop in the middle, however the still images will be suspended from the ceiling and laid out to create a pathway towards the screen. This would create a more interactive exhibition for a physical audience, were that to happen.


As part of the experimentation, I printed out some examples of my photography to be mounted onto foam board. This enabled me to physically visualise the depth of the display and the quality it would provide for a physical exhibition. This can be seen in the images below.



I liked the appearance and the quality of the photos mounted to the foam board. Note that these prints were slightly smaller than A3 due to some formatting issues prior to printing. My intention would be to print the images at around A1 / A2 size to create a large poster style image, similar to those that you would find in a shopfront display.


However due to complications and implications caused by the pandemic, a digital exhibition is more likely to be the preferred method of presentation. I will therefore be exploring the capabilities of the Artsteps platform, which is a website that allows users to create virtual walkthrough exhibitions of their work. This would allow me to create the environment of a physical exhibition online where an audience would be able to access and view my work.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page