top of page
  • Writer's pictureLuis Ramsey

Set 1 - Evaluation

Once I edit each set of photographs I will set out to evaluate the progress made, comparing them to the evaluation samples as highlighted in previous research posts. By doing this I am able to ensure a consistent level of quality and production across my project and throughout the photography edits.

Below is a contact sheet as well as a select few of the best images from this set.




It is important to note that the images I have created combine both a sense of sophistication as well as fun, creating a hybrid genre for marketing the content. The outfit clashes and yet works at the same time, suggesting that there is room for experimentation whilst maintaining quality.

Below are 4 sample images taken from my research; two of the photos are from H&M and two are from PHUG. By putting the differing aesthetics of these two brands side-by-side I will be able to compare them with my work whilst pulling out key aspects that inspired me.



There is a clear difference between the two brands and it was my intention to blur those lines between the sophisticated aesthetic of H&M and the more experimental and blown-out style used by PHUG.


One of the main aspects that I have utilised in my own imagery is the use of a variety of shots. This includes close-up shots of either the model or a product, as well as full body shots to present the whole model / outfit in the frame. An example of this is the framing I have used when displaying the top, trousers and even shoes that the model is sporting, shifting the focus of the shoot towards those specific areas for the purpose of promotion.

This variety of shot types is key for marketing and promotional content as it provides viewers and customers with a clear image of the product the brand is trying to sell, as well as providing a narrative for the product to follow

For example the messages used by PHUG would suggest that wearing their clothes is is fun and youthful, emphasised by the vast array of colours used in the products and sets. Meanwhile H&M suggests that the clothes in this range are of premium quality and provide a sense of wealth to the customer, suggested by the use of black and gold in the images, as well as warm tones in the edits.


Similarly, my photos emphasise the colour of the outfit by framing the model in front of a contrasting background. In this case, I used a large black panel against a wall as a backdrop for the photos which broke up some of the background which would otherwise had caused the image to become too "noisy". This was a significant lesson I learnt throughout the photoshoot, as the initial test images had something about them that didn't allow the subject within it to flow.

This can be found in both the H&M and PHUG imagery, where the directors have used simple shapes and objects in the background of the photos to create a fluid yet dynamic image layout. H&M utilises an urban setting, such as buildings, walls and railings, whilst PHUG uses close ups of objects like trees and even a solid background image of some leaves to create the illusion of depth in a studio environment.


In terms of workflow I noticed that I had piled a large number of images into myself to edit. I initially did this so I could view the outcome of each selected image before deciding which final images to use. However this turned out to be an extensive progress where I edited photos that I deemed to be unworthy of continuing further. Therefore, for future edits, I plan to reduce the number of images I am going to be working with so as to improve productivity and efficiency.


NOTE: I have since attended workshops that have increased my understanding of Photoshop, providing me with knowledge and tools to improve my editing skills. It is because of this that a few of the photos above may appear slightly different to the final outcomes due to revised editing techniques following the workshop.


 

(1) H&M (2021) Magazine, A World Of Inspiration At: https://www2.hm.com/en_gb/life.html (Accessed 11/03/2021)

(2) PHUG (2021) PHUG, At: https://www.phug.co.uk (Accessed 11/04/21)

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page