top of page
  • Writer's pictureLuis Ramsey

Lighting & Photography

After doing a little jig around the campus, we got round to the second session of the day in the photography studio. Here, we were playing with light and lighting techniques to take photos in a studio environment.


Lucky me got used as a ‘model’ for the initial lecture, having light shone at me from different angles to show how lighting creates different shadows and highlights on a subject.


We were also shown how a projector can be used to project light on a subject. This was very similar to using basic lighting, but gave us more creative freedom, enabling us to project images and colours onto the subject.


Below are examples of this:

In these images I set up the scene. Once I had selected the image, I positioned myself so that the projection would overlay onto my clothes to make it look like they were coloured. Note that white clothing shows the projection up far better than darker clothing.


This is a technique that could be used to design fashion products, using projections to project designs onto plain clothes, potentially making product design cheaper and more efficient.

Below is the backdrop used and the images projected. The images used were projections of the inkblot pieces we had created a few days prior.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page