top of page
  • Writer's pictureLuis Ramsey

Memento - Initial Ideas

The topic title for my third project is Memento. A single word with broad potential that differs across each individual.


To me, the term Memento refers to an object, a subject, that reminds me of something. Pretty basic at first light. It's only when applied to a personal level does the theme of Memento have a deeper and more established meaning. Personally I feel that this leans towards the ideas of things that link together; songs to experiences, smells to places.

The challenge is applying these ideas to a physical form that can be represented in a media product. Not to mention the restriction of being stuck at home because yes, we are still here.


The first idea I had linked to the concept of senses, as mentioned previously. The concept of senses bringing back memories to an individual, in this case me. For as long as I can remember, both significant and insignificant memories are brought back by music; I'll hit shuffle on Spotify and a song will play that will throw me back to a trip I had, or a day with someone etc.

To bring this into a physical (or digital) form, I am looking at recreating album covers using images from memories. Displayed as a Spotify play-track, the memorable images will replace the original album covers, either stylised similarly or styled in their own ways.

I have a Spotify music library of over 900 songs (and counting), all from a variety of artists and albums. I also have a hell of a lot of memories of experiences, trips and emotions that I have had over my lifetime. I'm going to have to whittle this down a bit...

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Memento Project Review

Right off the bat, the final video is a rough edit, as in it is not the highest quality it could possibly be. My old laptop with Filmora9...

Comments


bottom of page