top of page
  • Writer's pictureLuis Ramsey

Short Film - Editing

Editing in Adobe’s Premier Pro is still something relatively new to me. The concept of a workflow used in Creative Cloud is one that I am still grasping, with the numerous workspaces and file bins, adjustment settings a productivity-fuelled layouts.

That being said, I am beginning to get the hang of it. Organising my workspace and creating project folders is becoming second nature whilst the idea of adjustment layers to edit and alter content is becoming common practice. It’s still complex though, don't get me wrong. For example, I spent a couple of hours trying to create a decent zoom-in transition whilst following a tutorial. The process consisted of layering up adjustment layers, each with their own settings that would affect the clips beneath.

I definitely wanted to make a preset for this transition effect in the event that I lose my content! Again, something I had to teach myself...

The next most challenging aspect of this task was to adjust the colouring and lighting in the clips. Some were way too overexposed and others too dark. Luckily, my basic understanding of Lightroom and photo editing enabled me to make easy work of this...or so I thought. The first scene of the subject on the chair was overexposed ONLY on the subject’s face. The rest of the clip was correctly exposed. I initially had no idea how to correct this, so took to the internet. A few clicks later and I was teaching myself the basics of Tracking. This allowed me to create an adjustment layer specifically for the face where the exposure settings were (roughly) corrected.


Personally I think I did a decent job with this, bearing in mind it was a new skill that I have had no previous experience with. That being said the lack of experience definitely shows in the rendered versions where the tracking doesn't exactly keep up with the desired location...nonetheless it was a successful attempt and the colour grading / alterations made a significant difference in comparison to the initial footage.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page